Need FAST XFI 2.0 help - incompatible Device error

mblum

TurboBuick.Com Supporter!
Need some help from you FAST experts. I'm working on a GN that already has FAST XFI installed and does run. I tried calling FAST XFI a few times but there seems to be zero support for this, sat on hold for and hour each time. I googled searched a bunch which let me to things to try, but I still cannot connect my laptop to the ECU.

Here is what I know and have tried so far:
-The car has a FAST XFI 2.0 ECU and does run, I'm just trying to connect to the ECU to trouble shoot some issues, this is my first time messing with FAST XFI so I have never used it before.
-The car was last tuned around 2018 according to the owner, so I assume the newest 2.051 software is correct and is what I'm trying to connect with.
-For shits and giggles I did download the previous 2.010 software to see if I could connect but had no luck so I uninstalled and put 2.051 back on my lap top.
-I'm using Windows 10 and I have a new Serial Port to USB Adapter with current/updated drivers.
-My only unavailable COM Ports are 5 & 6 on my laptop, all others are available.
-I have checked the COM Port in the Windows Device Manager and confirmed it matches with the specified COM Port in C-COMP WP 2.0 software.
-The error I get is "Incompatible device" which from what I can gather means an mis-match of laptop software and ECU firmware. I cannot figure out how to see what version of firmware the ECU is running, I assume I must connect to the ECU find this information.

From google searches I see people say the "ECU Needs Flashed" but I cannot find instructions on how to do this. According to the software index instructions a A Flash Kit option harness (part # 30-1401) is needed. But a google search yields nothing. I see Pin a on the DIAG Connector is "Flash Enable" but I cannot find any additional info.

I'm sure something silly is holding me up, but I've tried for about a day now with no luck.

Last edited: