You can type here any text you want

new here with a 3.8L FWD Buick

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

KBcobra

Camaro 3.8L :)
Hi guys :biggrin: , i have a 3.8L FWD Buick park avenue given to me for free with 200 miles on a rebuilt or crate engine. i would like to know everything about this engine, what parts can be interchanged between a FWD and a RWD? my plans are have build 3.8L for a turbo to put in my '92 Camaro RS.

Details man, details.. What year is the engine/car? I'm still learning about the Turbo 3.8's myself, but more info is needed. What kind of boost do you plan on running? Performance numbers, etc?

i plan to convert the FWD to RWD, basically intake needs to reversed, i want to boost it with turbo unless an eaton will work, im looking for 300hp to 500hp, i plan to tune it with megasquirt. its an 86 :) sry

You will need an 86/7 RWD GN/T-type intake...If you look at your fwd intake, the thermostat housing where the top radiator hose would go would end up in back when you reverse it to face forward...

As far as putting it in a Camaro, you may need to do what GM did when they put it in the 89 TTA and use the Buick 3.0L fwd head and specific set of TTA headers for the turbo...There is probably a whole lot more involved in the swap, but this is a start for you...

As a side note, check if your 86 is a VIN 3 3.8L motor...It should have hydraulic roller lifters in it...

Check in the Turbo Trans Am Tech forum of this BB for more help...

This seems like a demanding project, regardless. I wish you the best of luck with it.. :redface:

i got vin B for engine??? engine looks like this.
DSC00942.jpg

vin number is 1G4CW69B7GXXXXXXX, should i get a number off the block and heads?