You can type here any text you want

New to Turbo Buicks--matching the cam, injectors, and turbo??

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

JustABuick

Hey all, I'm new to Turbo Buicks, and am currently assembling the parts I need to get my roller 87 T up and running. This may be a dumb question, but what is the best way to go about matching the turbo, injectors, cam, etc.? Or is the chip technology good enough that you just have to be within the ballpark? The car will be primarily for street use, but I'd like to take it to the track and be able to run high 11's.

Thanks, Kelly

high 11s is so easy you can almost do it with stock stuff. Do all the preventative stuff like fuel pump, timing chain, valve springs, 60# injectors/mathcing chip, spring cleaning, etc... Then see where you're at.

Add alcohol and you're done.

This is good news, the roller I bought already has an alky kit and walbro 340 fuel pump--a hotwire kit is coming soon. Would you recommend any porting or a bigger turbo, such as a TA 49? And I want to keep it on pump gas

Well, I bought the engine separate, and not complete, so it's already opened and I am getting all the parts together

Oh man. You're in for a ride. You really need to find someone local with FIRST HAND TR engine building experience.

These engines are notorious for failing quickly on a recent rebuild and they are not cheap to build ESP if the failure takes out turbos and oil coolers/radiators.

Do you own any engine building tools like mics, bore gauges, 100#+ calibrated torque wrenches, mag bases, dial indicators, etc... ?