You can type here any text you want

New turbo for a newbie

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

brif

I'm looking to take the next step I have a TA49 right now. My current goal is for mid 11's, but would like something that could grow with me if I feel the need/$$ (high 10's). My current mods are in my sig. I have bigger injectors and will purchase a TT chip to go along with the new parts. I am planning on doing a turbo/convertor combo at the same time. What would be a good choice for a fun street car that will possibly see the track a few times a year? Is the extra cost of a ball bearing worth it over a journal for my application? How would a 6262 work for my application?

brif,I am no expert but I have done my share of reading and bigger isn't always better in the Turbo Buick world.The TA-49 is a awesome turbo for a stock Turbo Buick with some bolt on's and many people have gone high to mid 11's with it.So don't get caught up in thinking that a bigger turbo will make your car go faster,it's the whole package(turbo,intercooler,heads,intake ect.)that will.With that said is the TA-49 in good shape is there any shaft play? How does it spool?How much boost are you running? If every thing is good with the turbo you might want to invest in some tuning equipment like a wide band o2 system and a Power Logger that way you can really tune your car to gain more power safely.If you still have the stock valve springs you should update to a 100lbs valve springs.You are in a great place to gain a lot of knowledge about these awesome cars,this TurboBuick.com is a excellent source for information just take your time and read. Good luck,ikle.

Stick with the 49 for now...Do the other things that need to be done to where you want to go 1st and then step up the turbo.

Been down this road, trust me you will be much more satisfied doing it this way.