You can type here any text you want

Newb question: Why are all GN's automatic?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Matt37

Why are all GN's automatic??

I know, this is an extreme newb quesiton, but please bare with me I am new to this whole Grand National thing.

What was the reasoning behind it? Iam sure it has something to do with turbo lag or something but...

I have seen manual turbo cars.. I think.

Are all turbo cars automatic??

Someone help!

Thank You

I dunno? They probably didnt want to cover the damage caused by mis-shifts, with the warranties.

American cars, minus the Vette, Mustang, and F-twins, aren't very popular in manual transmissions though that is swinging back a bit. The manual transmission was dropped as an option from the A/G-body platform in I beleive 84 when they redesigned the firewall and frame slightly for the new TH200-4R automatic overdrive. Also coupled with the durability problems of the manual transmissions of the time made a durable combination with the most powerful engine offered in a domestic car at the time a potential warantee nightmare. They tried it for the 89 25th Anniversary Turbo Trans-Am but the T-5 just didn't last and was slower than the TH200-4R cars so they went with that.
From a turbo standpoint, its hard to spool a turbo with no load, ie a torque converter. It can be done but it takes trickery and its harder on the turbo since it loads and unloads at every shift.

Just some info,

Matt37 said:
Why are all GN's automatic?? ..... turbo lag or something but.....
I think the "convenience factor" and to combat lag/boost building issues.

Matt37 said:
...... Are all turbo cars automatic?? .... I have seen manual turbo cars.. I think.......
No, there are manual turbo cars but all the good and fast ones are automatic. :biggrin: