You can type here any text you want

newbe with turbo monte

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

bigbada

i'm not new to the site but now a member. i just picked up an 80 turbo monte, the motor has a bad knock and i'm debating weather to rebuild it or go with an ls1 motor i already have that was going into a different project.i have no experience with turbos so i think the ls1 would be an easier swap,is there any resale value for the the 3.8l turbo motor.thanks:confused:

As far as the resale value go to nada.com and look at for the classic car prices. Each car is different and with more of the older cars dissapearing for what ever reason I'd hate to see another be butchered.

i dont want to sell the car just the turbo motor setup.(maybe)i may rebuild the motor if i can find a rebuild kit for it and upgrade the hp.

i dont want to sell the car just the turbo motor setup.(maybe)i may rebuild the motor if i can find a rebuild kit for it and upgrade the hp.

I think you can rebuild the block and up date to 86-87 GN stuff it would be much easier then going to a LS set up.
On the other hand a turbo LS would be bad assss.
Good luck

I wasn't suggesting you sell it I was saying go see what it's worth. Once you modify it it will be worth less unless you get the right buyer and that sometimes takes a while. As far as making it more powerful start reading and don't stop. Ask a lot of questions and take the info as it comes and decide for yourself.

another turbo car wasted...and it's even more sad cause its a monte.
Why not sell the car to someone that would appreciate it and buy a regular monte with a 4.3 v6. You will be ahead of the game anyway