You can type here any text you want

Newbie needs a little help tuning FAST

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

mustangracer42

I just got my car running the other day and Im having some problems getting the O2 correction to keep the "actual" af ratio to match the "desired". The problem is only at idle up to 1500 rpm. I have a desired af ratio of 13.5, the closest I can get for actual is 12.4-12.8 and that's with the correction maxed out at 25%. Like I said I'm a newbie with this stuff so if you guys can give me a few areas to start playing with I'd appreciate it.

I've already started messing with base fuel pressure and it doesn't seem to help. I've gone from 50# (recommended for my setup) down to 25# and always seem to have the same 25% O2 correction factor.

Thanks
Jeremy

Jeremy,
If you don't mind travelling, I can help you out. I have the Orlando track rented this weekend specifically to tune some FAST Mustangs.

Cal, I wish I would've known sooner. I'm military and I'm on leave right now. I have alot of other commitments this weekend. Thanks for the offer.

Jeremy,

That is exactly the purpose of the VE table. Have you tried to change those values?

-Bob Cunningham

Bob I have not changed any of the values on the VE table. Should I increase or decrease the value. As I sit here and try to think through volumetric efficiency I can't decide which way I should change the tables. Thanks for the help

Think of it this way:
VE is essentially telling it how much air is the engine getting. Higher VE means the engine is getting more air for a given rpm, manifold pressure, etc.

When the FAST thinks that it is getting more air, then it adds more fuel to get the desired a/f ratio.

In your case, the engine is actually too rich. It is getting more fuel than it needs for the air its getting. The engine is getting less air than what the FAST thinks it is getting.