No Power off the line

bigballsbilly

Just bought this 87 4 weeks ago and been trying to sort a few things out. When I power brake it takes about 5 seconds for the turbo to spool up to 5 lbs boost, then when taking off the car does a short burnout and accelerates like an 87 Yugo. Eventually when it gets up to about 4,000 rpm the car starts accelerating like expected and boost goes up to 11 lbs.

Car is mostly stock but has a 5.7 TT chip and 60 lb injectors. I have done a spring cleaning, except the plugs which look good. I have replaced all vacuum hoses and the vacuum block. I have a Scanmaster but am not sure what it will tell me that can help me. I read an onlne artical by one of the magazines that they went to the track and couldnt even do a burn out, so they replaced the cam sensor and that fixed the problem.

Where would you guys go from here? I am new to Turbos but not new to hot rodding.

Thanks guys!

You need to find someone local to you that knows these cars. Right now you have a time bomb sitting in your driveway.

My 2800 stall converter took a long time to spool my 6157 turbo. After Dusty restalled it to 3200 burn outs were no problem. Are you sure the turbo is stock? Do you have a fuel pressure gauge? Hotwire to the fuel pump? Make sure you are not running lean. If you don't know how old the fuel pump is it would be a good idea to change it. Do a search. There is a lot of info on fuel pumps for our cars. There was a bad batch of Walbro pumps about 5 years ago. Serial # ends in 169. I hope you don't have one of those. Personally I bought an XP from Red Armstrong and it works great.

Last edited: