Opinions for a newbie

jrowenturbo

Hello I am new to the turbo Buick world and I'm looking for some opinions on building a good streetable car. I just bought a 85 t-type. It is a hot air car and I'm going to convert it to a cold air car (already have most of the parts to do so) . It has a freshly rebuilt motor (out of the car along with the tranny) with mildly ported stock heads.

I am wanting to build a mid 11 sec car.

What should I go with as far as turbo, intercoller, injectors, throttle body, torque converter...? Thanks for the help in advance !!

You can run a 57/58 turbo from Comp Turbo or a TA 49 is a good street turbo too.
A stock location intercooler will work fine for your goals, injectors will depend on turbo, you should absolutely run an Alkycontrol set up on the car unless you will be running E85 in the car. A ported stock throttle body will be fine, it opens it up to 62 mm. Talk to this man here for that:www.throttlebodys.com.

Use a Turbotweak chip for the ECM and your life will be easier. You can run an SD2 chip and learn how to tune and datalog, always a good thing.

Torque converter you can run a 9.5 inch or 10 lock up converter with a higher stall speed and the trans will live. A 3000 stall speed would work well. You may want to get the trans built and then do the converter because you will kill the trans when you go to turn up the wick on the turbo. Its a crap shoot just know that going in.

That should keep you busy.

Last edited:
This is an approximation....

Your car is around 3100 lbs
plus a driver 200 lbs