oversized timing gears for line bored block

Blazer406

Mechanical Engineer
Background:

Motor gets line bored after caps or girdle install. Center distance between cam and crank gets slightly shorter due to the line bore..... this makes the timing chain appear loose. Presto... there are companies that manufacture timing chans with oversized gears to "take-up" the slack. The gears are machined slightly bigger diameter..... but the chain itself is the same as a comparable stock center distance chain. Now I admit... I am an Engineer.... and it is an attribute of engineers to ask "how did they do that".

The stock type chain has a certain pitch. Stock sprokets have teeth cut to match the pitch of the chain. This is a matched set.

How can a larger diameter sprocket be manufactured that fits the same pitch chain without stepping up 1 tooth or down 1 tooth. i.e. stock sproket has (I'm guessing) 50 teeth.... new one has 51 teeth.... so if the pitch was the same... the diameter would need to increase to accomidate the "extra" tooth. This makes sense.... what doesn't make sense... is that 1 tooth bigger would have moved the center distances a hell of a lot further than .002" (which is the first oversize Rollmaster size from stock). If it is the same number of teeth on the sprocket.... looks like to me.... the only way to make it larger diameter... would be to slighly lengthen the pitch of the teeth in the gear.... which would IMHO... make the chain also need a longer pitch...... but this can't be... cause they say a stock replacement chain will still fit.

So....... How'd they do that?