You can type here any text you want

Questions/Inquiries about GN's.

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Choppa

A good friend of mine owns an 87 GN, it is a beautiful car, and I think I have fallen in love. Unfortunately, I am not very proficient with cars. I would love to learn, but I am not sure if a GN would be a good car to learn on. You guys seem pretty knowledgeable, so I wanted to get your opinion. The car would be a daily driver, and I have anywhere from 7500-10,000 to spend. Thanks!

Choppa,

I am looking to buy also and I have been learning for many months by reading and researching these cars and what it takes to keep them running (quick) daily. I expect you can get a good T-Type for your money range but you will probably have a hard time finding a 86-87 GN that is running well and will require minimum work to keep it that way. Personally I expect to spend more than 10K. The 85 and back, non-intercooled cars runs less though so that may be an option for you. If you are not used to or not good at working on cars then I highly suggest you search out a local Buick dealership or mechanic that knows these cars and has a good rep. Good luck.

Tell you what guys, My daily driver turbo regal sat for a few years without being driven or started under car covers and hasnt let me down yet. It was broken and it wasnt on the priority list. All i did was put it back together,change all the fluids and new 02 sensor plugs and wires, it was good as new.

Ive had it for 7 years, drag raced it almost getting it into the 10s, took it on long distance road trips averaged 25mpg,and now daily driven it for over a year...yet to break down for my 20 mile each way trip to work.
I wouldnt be sane without all that power on a daily basis. :)