You can type here any text you want

Retorque Heads

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

GNAT87

This could be a retarded post but...So Saturday I have a date with the car. My heads are in need of being retorqued since I saw a little oil coming from the deck. Car has heater box and Champion valve covers(taller than stock) I know the clearence is tight on the passenger side so how should I start? I dont expect the drivers side to be a problem. This will be the first time since the motor was built so im new to this. Ive got the torque specs on my papers that came with the GN1's. Just trying to get a plan of action before i tear into it. Looking for the easiest way...

I just re torqued mine.....went like this.

With engine cold.

Unhooked negative battery cable.

Carefully removed valve cover and rocker assembly. Careful with push rods so that they remain in the lifter seat.

Remove spark plug wires.

Remove headers, dipstick, bracket and push header away from heads.

Torque head bolts in sequence to 85ftlb (that's what I torque mine to), can't reach the rear left head bolt on the drivers side and the right rear passenger side (AC still in car) head bolt, because the intake gets in the way with the end of the Torque Wrench during re torquing of these two rear bolts. Just the 4 middle bolts needed to be re torqued on mine.

Carefully install and torque rocker assemblies. Make sure push rods are seated correctly while tightening rocker assembly back down.

Install headers.

Install plug wires.

Install valve covers.

Reconnect negative battery cable and you are done. :smile:

With an oil leak, try tightening the valvecover, first. The heads should not need retorquing. With Cometics, maybe.