Scan master G for XFI

Discussion in 'Scan Tool Tech' started by tonysmach, Apr 9, 2017.

  1. tonysmach

    tonysmach
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    17
    Offline
    When I try to run a ScanMaster G for XFI simultaneously with eDash, I get an error. Is there anyway to run them simultaneously? SM G works fine when I disconnect the eDash.
     
  2. pacecarta

    pacecarta
    Expand Collapse
    MAGNA
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    8,595
    Likes Received:
    576
    Offline
    having same issue with one i just installed .... #turbobob ??
     
  3. TurboBob

    TurboBob
    Expand Collapse
    Resident mad scientist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,934
    Likes Received:
    345
    Offline
    how are you connecting them? you can't share a port.

    what error are you getting?

    Bob
     
  4. pacecarta

    pacecarta
    Expand Collapse
    MAGNA
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    8,595
    Likes Received:
    576
    Offline
    edash on com 0, wired in to C30 TX C31 RX D12 gnd with the supplied duetsch connector ,
    scanmaster plugged in on the laptop metripak connector com 1 C27tx C28 rx C29 gnd
    normally when you have edash connected and connect a laptop the edash disconnects then reconnects no issue ,
    with the SM-G edash on and connected plug in scanmaster and scanmaster comes up and edash disconnects and tries to reconnects but then displays error 1 check connection

    as mentioned unplug edash and SM-G works fine , unplug SM-G and edash works fine
     
    #4 pacecarta, Apr 10, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2017
  5. TurboBob

    TurboBob
    Expand Collapse
    Resident mad scientist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,934
    Likes Received:
    345
    Offline
    the Scanmaster is probably polling for data too fast. Let me see about slowing it down a little.

    Bob
     
  6. tonysmach

    tonysmach
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    17
    Offline
    Here is the error message I get on the eDash after about 5 seconds of both eDash and SM G for XFI running. The SM G restarts about every 5 seconds when both are running. IMG_1090.JPG
     
  7. pacecarta

    pacecarta
    Expand Collapse
    MAGNA
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    8,595
    Likes Received:
    576
    Offline
    i thought that exclamation point was a one :wideyed:
     
  8. TurboBob

    TurboBob
    Expand Collapse
    Resident mad scientist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,934
    Likes Received:
    345
    Offline
    likely the scanmaster G is talking to the XFI too fast. if you are set up with bluetooth, I can send you a file to flash into the gauge to try.
     
  9. tonysmach

    tonysmach
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    17
    Offline
    Bob, can you list the steps to connect the SM G/XFI to the laptop. I am not the best with computers. Shouldn't the name of the device (The SM G) pop up somewhere on my laptop?
    thanks.
    Tony
     
  10. TurboBob

    TurboBob
    Expand Collapse
    Resident mad scientist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,934
    Likes Received:
    345
    Offline
    here is a quick video



    Bob
     
  11. tonysmach

    tonysmach
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    17
    Offline
    Thanks Bob. I got it working.
     
  12. pacecarta

    pacecarta
    Expand Collapse
    MAGNA
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    8,595
    Likes Received:
    576
    Offline
    Bob can i get a copy of the fix flash file for this issue
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. getdowngranny

    getdowngranny
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Fix It

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    79
    Online
    I am also having the same exact issue running the scanmaster G and the edash. I can only use one at a time or else they just keep resetting. They are both on separate comm ports. Is it possible for you to email me the flash for the scanmaster to allow both to work?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. TurboBob

    TurboBob
    Expand Collapse
    Resident mad scientist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,934
    Likes Received:
    345
    Offline
    the fix I had did not solve the issue. I need to change the communication strategy. Its currently pulling a lot of data from the XFI, and I need to cut that down so the edash stays happy.

    I should have something soon, but send me an email as a reminder.

    thanks

    Bob
     
  15. getdowngranny

    getdowngranny
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Fix It

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    79
    Online
    Awesome. I’ll check in another month or two to see if you have an update.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. TurboBob

    TurboBob
    Expand Collapse
    Resident mad scientist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,934
    Likes Received:
    345
    Offline
    ill have something soon, sorry for the delay.

    Bob
     
  17. getdowngranny

    getdowngranny
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Fix It

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    79
    Online
    Any updates?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page