You can type here any text you want

Starter question.

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

82beforeblack

hi guys i have a 109 block carbed with long tube PaceSetter headers and my stock starter does not fit any more at the moment i have a powermaster 19000 in right now for a small block but it grinds like crap every other time i start it so i was jus wondering what other mini start there is for our block or what others have done to make the stock work. Thanks in advance

Your flywheels sounds like its messed up too check that out. But I heard the lt4 starter is a common upgrade. But on the starter grinding every other time my elco would do that went through a bunch of starters until I replaced the starter and the flywheels and made sure the teeth had the proper gap in them.

Inspect the flywheel for wear/damage, if good align the starter with the flywheel with the shim kit supplied with all new starters. The alignment will not cure a worn flywheel.

Shim it. Any SBC with inline bolt pattern will work. I am using a Summit brand pro starter or something like that. It is the same as an LT4 starter, but with a billet adjustable mounting block. The LT1 starters are hit and miss. I have seen and heard of the LT1 starters sold for the Buicks fail, and have seen replacement LT1 starters last 2 months. Any starter might require shimming.

Shim it. Any SBC with inline bolt pattern will work. I am using a Summit brand pro starter or something like that. It is the same as an LT4 starter, but with a billet adjustable mounting block. The LT1 starters are hit and miss. I have seen and heard of the LT1 starters sold for the Buicks fail, and have seen replacement LT1 starters last 2 months. Any starter might require shimming.