You can type here any text you want

stock heads

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Noopz1991

Whats the max stock heads can handle. Im rebuildin a 87 GN motor for my 83 T-Type it will be my daily driver and once in awhile to get it a little power.

The stock heads will handle way more then your ever going to throw at them. I am having a set done now that will go in the mid 9's easy. I do not like alum heads on a true street car. I have 3 other high powered big blocks and have never used alum on any. The so called weight savings just isnt worth the warping, cracking, and other hassle in my opinion.
So to answer your question...700hp or mid 9's with the correct work.

Thanks
Coach

Alright thanks for the help really appreciate it im new to the gn motors. And ill be lookin for more help.

Coach's statement is very true of PORTED stock iron heads by a skilled porter. I just wanted to make sure you realized that. The stock unported heads are pretty weak, but can run in the 10's with good tuning and the right go fast parts.

Thanks Fab, I guess I forgot to mention porting needed. When I said I'm having a set done, I knew what I ment, but it didn't read the same.

Thanks.
Coach

So all i need to do is port my stock heads and anything i put to it they will handle them.

Pretty much. Don't need a full port job for big power. A decent clean up and my buddy KevinW25645 is going 10.8's with a ton left.

Thanks for all the help i really appreciate it. Ill definitly be commin back for help if you guys dont mind helping.

Thanks for all the help i really appreciate it. Ill definitly be commin back for help if you guys dont mind helping.

You will learn a ton just reading on here. You will also learn which members know what they are talking about and which are "grasping at straws". Im no expert in these cars, but the question you asked, I have also asked, so I knew the answer.