Studder problem around 2400 rpm coming on boost help

Hotrodbuick

I'm new to these cars and the turbo aspect as well. I bought the car a couple months ago with turbo off and intercooler off. What I know is it has a cam (don't know what size) and it had twin pumps with a 66 ball bearing turbo on it at one time. Now it has a walbro fuel pump and a turbo not big but I don't know what it is but it's aftermarket. When you stop and go to take off as soon as it makes around 4 pounds of boost and 2400 rpm the car spits and spudders like it has a rev limiter in it but if you can get it to go past that part it will come on boost fine and drive fine, but when you stop and start it does it all over again. Oh one other thing it starts when the fuel pressure hits 40 lbs. I have adjusted the fuel pressure up and down but when I can get the car to not do it it runs too lean and the plugs are white as can be. I don't know what size the injectors are or what chip is in it but the chip says 55 rev LC don't know what that means. I am running out of ideas with trying different things any ideas or help would help a lot.

Thanks

It's hard to say since you don't have a lot of information, but it sounds like your turbo is going into rotating stall a.k.a. surging. My car does the same thing at part throttle when it's at around 8 to 10 psi. The engine starts to rapidly buck, I can hear the repeated sneezing sound in the intake, and the boost gage flutters up and down. As soon as I either give it more throttle or let off the throttle, it goes back to normal. This means that at that exact condition, the turbo is operating at a speed that is generating too much pressure ratio for the amount of air that the engine can swallow. Technically, it means that condition is asking the turbo to operate to the left of the surge line of the compressor map (look that up on the Garret web site).

Assuming this is your problem, it's not a big deal, other than being annoying.

Mike