You can type here any text you want

Valve Springs???

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

qws2000

I know this has been talked about a lot it seems, so sorry for this question... I have the wrong springs in my car, and I have the right springs just need them installed... Can I bring this job to a local Mechanic?? Or can I try the job myself I would say I am a novice wrench turner...

I would have a shop do it if your not experienced. Just dropping one part in the cylinder will cost you big time if you can't retrieve it.

To do the job yourself you will need custom spring removal tools to get the passenger side 4&6 springs out, and know how to measure the spring height accurately with limited access. I just did it a few weeks ago, I was glad I had machine shop experience and a great cylinder head machinist on the phone when I found the retainers and split locks I had did not let me shim to the proper installed height. In short, unless you have the tools, resources, and patience to check everything ....take it to a good shop.

Or just look up Turbo Tom on Youtube. He has a series of videos doing work on his GN and changing valve springs was an upgrade he did.