Whats it worth ?

Louie L.

Habitual Line Stepper
Staff member
I need some help figuring out on what to offer for a 104k Orig owner TTA. The car has issues mostly appearing to be cosmetic.

The car has been outside all of its life.The owner ...in his 60s is looking to get rid of it.It was driven by his wife for quite some time. Ive been working the area where the car is for 10 yrs and they have had it the whole time.The lady got tired of it and her bad back was not helping either.

here are the issues.....

-The car has sun faded paint to the point that the hood has surface rust. The front of the hood is rusted past the surface and is bubbled up.
-All the rubber is dried up(winshield,T tops ect)
- The wing is cracked and peeling.
-Nose is spider webbed bad.
-The wheels and emblems are all there and in rather nice shape.
-The front seats are torn up pretty bad.
-The carpet is faded really bad.
-DS armrest is shot
-The car runs but hasnt been driven in several years.
-small dent in left side rear quater. About 4 in long
-heater core is bad
-AC dont work
-The winshield pillar is starting to get rust from the inside out ! :eek:

The car looks rough but im almost certain that the 104 k miles were mostly very easy miles.

The car has potential but his 6k asking price seems high to me.

Im I wrong ? I really wanna save this car, just not for 6k

Now for the technical part. What other issues should i be looking for ? Are things like seat covers, rear hatch wing and hood still available ?This is all new to me.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

what is it worth...

:confused: What is it worth after you spend the $8,000 to $12,000 for a total restoration? I do not know the value of a resto with 104k miles. I do know from your description and having experience doing a restoration that could be close to the money to do the project... Do the math. What does it sound like to others reading this? :confused: