where do i start?

DragCamaro

Real-Keeper
hey everybody, im extremely new to the world of buicks but im looking at an 86 GN right now. i dont know too much about how these cars function, so im wondering where do most people start with modifications? i work in a garage so im not an idiot under the hood, im just not up to date with the 3.8's. if you want to know about anything on an LS1, LT1 or any f-body i could tell you off the top of my head.
wheres the best place to start though? exhaust is usually crucial on a turbo car so i figure that will need to be done, but what about chips? is it safe to up the boost any on a relatively stock engine? ive only talked to the guy on the phone, and he says the car is stock except for a larger turbo, he didnt know anything about it though, so i guess ill just have to wait and see.
sorry if this has been asked before, but id appreciate any help :)
ah also, im trading a 2000 z28 camaro for this, how does a GN compare performance wise to this? its basically stock but i rebuilt the tranny with a good shift kit and about a 3500 stall.
thanks for any help
Mark

I would be real careful before I trade my ride for an unknown. Find someone who really knows these cars to take a look at the GN and ask a lot of questions. If you don't get straight answers walk away, FAST.

yea im a little skittish honestly. whats should i look out for? the guy just had the transmission rebuilt, new interior, new turbo, all the AC componets have been replaced, the rearend has just been rebuilt, and the engine was just tuned up. he says he doesnt know a whole lot about the cars but the guy that he has do the work does. he was origionally going to sell it to him but he likes my car better and the guy has no money lol

how does a GN compare performance wise to this?

toss a few parts at it...get a damn good tune and your into the 11's..answer your question?