93 Octane

Wld87GN

For the guys here that have been wrenching on these cars for years, this is will be no suprise, but for anyone else it just may be an eye opener.

So I got my scanmaster and hooked it up yesterday to my GN which is mostly stock except for a HW kit, FP, and a few other minor mods.

Anyway, I had noticed that I was not able to push my boost much and was actually concerned that there was something amiss. So, I went to the gas station and filled the tank with 93 octane (remember I just got this car a couple months ago and have only been able to drive it a couple of times).

So upon filling up with 93 octane, I can immediately tell the car is running differently. The idle is different, the pedal response feels different. So I leave the station and find a road that is slightly off the beaten path and open it up.. How else can I describe this other than to say... DAMN! for .20 a gallon more than regular that is the smartest power maker. My boost gage had previously only come close to about 13-14, I was able to see 17 on the first pedla smash with 93 octane.

Well to make a fun situation even better, I also received my TT chip yesterday and my new injectors. Which will be getting installed this weekend (hopefully), I am actually waiting for the new FPR. I know that many of us yearn for more power and want to go faster, but there is something to be said about basic parts and doing a shitload of reading to understand how these cars respond to simple mods.

If you are new to the GN scene and you have not or are not running 93 octane... give it a shot (but try to fill up from an almost empty tank to ensure you are not diluting the 93 with whatever you had in the tank. Does anyone really use regular 87 in these cars? If it is mostly stock.... I am thinking this is crazy.

Does anyone really use regular 87 in these cars?