You can type here any text you want

I am thinking about becoming a firefighter..

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

progress1vebmx

Asian man #1
So, 90GTP's thread about Police Officers made me want to post about becoming a fire fighter. I'm nearing the age of 18 and about to start college.

I am not sure what I want to do when I grow up... At first I wanted to do something with computers, but I have a job with that right now, and I hate it. I always wanted to do something for the community, like becoming a Police Officer, Firefighter, or Teacher.

I am not wanting to become a Firefighter for the pay, I just want to join up to serve the community and help people, I always loved doing that.

Anyways, what are some basic requirements, or, what is it like being a firefighter?

FireFighting rules

hey progressive

I have been a Volunteer/ part-time paid Firefighter since 1999 with the Randleman fire dept. I enjoy do it. All you need to do is go to your local Fire dept and talk to someone about becoming a Vol and that will get you your start in the fire service.

The training requirments vary from different states and also it depennds if the department is in the county or the city also. so i really encourage you to look into if your heart wants you to do it.
beacuse firefighting is not for everyone.

I'm a NC certified level I and level II firefighter. Also a NC certified Medical responder and NC certified in HAZ-MAT Awareness/operations.

you can take the training far from there to if you wish . like getting a fire sciences degree 4yr course.

no the pay is not that great but like you said you can give back to the community you live in. I enjoy every minute of it the good and the bad.

FireFighting rules

hey progressive