i need my scanmaster to be a mobile unit- who can make this?

Quick6'n'-K.C.

wana steal it? meet mr9mm
Staff member
i have a scanmaster, and i want to be able to use the darned thing for 3 cars--- instead of getting under the dash hooking up the wires all the time, i was wondering if someone could make/ or does make this-

a plug in harness just like turbo link has--

i would like to just plug right into the aldl connector and read what the scanmaster has to read-

thanks for any info
bryan

It shouldn't be too hard to do yourself. There are just 3 wires if I remember correctly.....12V power / ground / ALDL wire.

You can use a cigarette lighter adapter from Radio Shack for the power and ground. I've seen some thin (1/8" wide) spade connectors before....probably found at Radio Shack also. Just crimp on the thin spade connector to the SM wire and plug it into the ALDL port. You'll just have to be careful to get the right hole?!?!

Casper's may sell a full plug for the ALDL port, but you will really only connect to one wire.

HTH,
John

steve, john

i have used the cig lighter cable in the past, and the scanmaster didnt light up near as much if i plugged it straight to a 12v source

i was really wanting something where i could just plug right in to the aldl and not have to worry about other cables-

thanks for the idea, but i have my mind set on the aldl plug connector
thanks
bryan

I have a long pigtail with the 3 wires connected to the back side of the aldl and just keep the plug under the ashtray when I don't have the SM plugged into it. It does require you to create a pig tail for each car though with this method..:(

ks

lol
yeah-- ive done that too-- but i dont like the extra wires there when the scantool isnt in place
thanks

Bryan, I like that idea. I made mine portable from instructions I believe Mosher posted somewhere. Otherwise I would have never thought of it, and I really like it except for the wires hanging over the center console.