You can type here any text you want

Installing HV Melling oil pump

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Tom87GNX

I'm going to be installing a HV Melling oil pump, any recommendations as to what spring I should use? Kit has springs for 40, 60, and 70 psi. I'm thinking 70 but I'm no expert on these engines. Thanks for any input on this.

Tom

You dont need the high volume pump, the stock pump with the booster plate will do fine. Make sure to set the gear end clearance to .002

Take that pump back and get a normal one. A properly set up stock pump will flow more than enough to keep our engines happy.

X 3. Get an adjustable pressure regulator kit from TA and you can get any pressure you want above idle from the stock pump with or without a booster plate. I set mine at 60 PSI cold while priming the system with a drill, then see what it is hot and adjust for 70 PSI @ high RPM.

The oil pressure is set by...the bearing clearences in the engine, the clearences in the pump pocket, and the pump gear end play. All those springs do is control what psi the bypass valve opens and you send unfiltered oil into the rest of the engine. That is all the adjustable PR kit does from TA ....correct me if I am wrong gurus.

I thank everyone for their input on this, I've also gotten some tips from Bison, as well as a local GN guru in my area. It seems that there are several different opinions here. The local guru in my area has run the same pump I have for years and has had no problems, he always uses this pump kit in all his turbo builds. He currently has several 11 second turbo cars. So I really don't know which way to go, it seems as though everyone has had different experiences. I'm not trying to split hairs here or anything so, I guess I will do a bit more research before I make a decision. Thanks again everyone.