Ok, I had a lifter tapping and pulled the intake...

TT/Ameasap

The White Blur
The oil is contaminated I know. The cam looks to be OK? Just want opinions. The reason I tore into this motor is because the intake rocker on #4 was only moving just a bit while the others were....well...rocking.This is my first time digging into a motor, so if you have any tricks or suggestions please lemme know. I really need to be coached through this. I have GN buddies, but the engine guys are all far away from me. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

cam1.jpg

cam2.jpg

cam3.jpg

cam4.jpg

cam5.jpg

You need another camshaft and lifters if one of them didn't move very much. People will tell you that you need to pull the engine and rebuild it but just a cam/lifter change will do just fine. Also pull the oil pan to clean also. I've done plenty like that in customers cars over 20 years.

Engine is already built. Maybe 1k miles. Aftermarket hydrolic cam and lifters. Noticed lifter sticking and wanted to put GM stock units back in. Am I wrong for thinking this? I want to change lifters,rockers and rocker shaft. push rods are champion titanium.

Ok, now that you said the engine "only" has 1k miles on it I'm afraid that cam put A LOT of metal in the engine in a very short period of time. You may have to go back in and rebuild it again. If it was a very gradual cam failure over a period of say....20,000 miles I'd stick with my other post about just putting a cam and lifters in and be done.

You can't just put new lifters on a cam that the lobe is worn off of.

I am asking if the lobes are worn off. I didnt think it was that bad, but wanted opinions. Thats why I have the pics.

If you see anything out of wack please elaborate.I also dont know the excact miles on the motor. caould be a few thousand. I will have to get with the previous owner on that. Car ran excellent until this tapping noise. Compression was 150psi on all cyls. Should I go with a billit roller cam?