You can type here any text you want

power antenna driving me crazy!

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

kels87gn

I have a 87 gn with 14,000 miles in excellent shape with the exception of the power antenna. It doesn't work and I'm no electrician by any means. I ordered a replacement from gbodyparts.com and when I received it I plugged it in to check before doing the install. Nothing! I searched on here and found schematics and troubleshooting guides from vortecbuicks and some others. I've been trying to follow steps to trace if everything from the radio through the relay up to the antenna is correct but like i said i'm no electrician. If anyone has ideas of things to check please let me know. Also are there other options if I can't resolve the power antenna problem such as fixed mast etc.?

Did you check your ground? It's behind the glovebox and becomes brittle from age.

I'll check tommorrow but everything under dash and hood is in like brand new condition . I'll let you know if thats an issue. thanks

With the radio OFF you should have +12 on the White wire and a ground on the dark green wire.

First check the white wire to a known good ground and it should read +12.

Next check the dark green wire with the neg. of the meter and put the + red usually meter wire to the battery + terminal.

If the meter reads +12 you have a good ground on the green wire.

First simple checks of the wires at the antenna.

The CIG/CLK fuse must be good (interior lights working etc.) for the antenna to work and the test to be valid.

Key can be off and radio off for the test.

Thanks for that reply Allan, & Louis I didn't know you had an electrical back ground.