You can type here any text you want

Quick question for people that did Vac brake conversion

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

dwall

Looks like it may be time for me as I have my original Power Master & therefore .. issues.

Anyway - I have parts - the 85 Regal/Monte SS MC & diaphragm, ported intake block, inline filter and complete brake pedal & hardware. I have been doing my search read & study but as usual I have an unanswered question. Obviously the pedal is different but...

My dummy question is, " Do I use or can I use the pedal mounting bracket from the lovely old PM or do I need to replace using the bracket from the firewall of the NA Regal? Are they the same?

Sounds good Keith!

Lazy as I am I was hoping that I would find the identical bracket on the Power Master. It took four nuts & a bolt to get the old bracket out of the parts car but I was hoping I could just leave the PM bracket in position under the dash for the change over.

Thanks from the olphart in the Lazy Oaf Lounge.
Bob

you dont need to change the dash bracket , just pull the bolt that holds the pedal and swap the pm pedal for the vac pedal

DWALL! Wassup?

No interest in rebuilding the powermaster? Using one of the new style "extra large" accumulators, a new switch, and a master cylinder kit from Karps power brake service and the old PM will do it's job for a long time to come. And it's pretty easy to do too.

The only really hard pill to swallow is if the pump and motor are fried or leaking internally.

Thanks everyone. Well anyway, I thought I was ready to swap. Expecting the worst, you know.

Did rear wheel inspection. One rear wheel cylinder weeping. Low on (dark) fluid with mushy pedal. Replaced wheel cylinders, hardware, turned the drums, new shoes, flushed and bled. No extras - this is a Sunday driver.

Result.