Rough idle when engine cold

rhturbo

Hi everyone,
I am new to the turbo world. Just bought an 87 GN with a few mods. I don't know all the details of the mods but I do know it has an upgraded turbo, upgraded cam, Shift kit and stall converter and upgraded inter cooler (sits in front of rad) Car runs great once warmed up. On cold start it starts instantly and when running on fast idle its very smooth. As it warms up (within 1 min) and the idle drops to normal the idle becomes very eratic and surges up and down. Eventually it just stalls unless I feather the peddle. I have to feather the peddle for at least 2 mins until it warms up and then it settles down and will stay running. Car runs great after that but I will say that even after warmed up there is still a slight fluctuation in idle rpms when at a light etc...

If I go for a drive and then come home , shut car off and then an hour later start it back up the same thing happens. There are no other issues. The car accelerates smoothly and runs great.

Not sure where to start. Could it be MAF or Throttle body needs cleaning ?

It could be a MAF issue but cleaning it probably won't help. If the MAF has been replaced at some point which is highly likely it may not read correctly. Most of the remanufactured MAF's are crap as far as the calibration goes. A fair portion of them read low which will cause the car to run lean prior to going into closed loop. There are a number of other things that could be the issue from vacuum leaks to an improper chip calibration. More info is needed.

Neal

Thanks for your reply. So are you thinking it may be the MAF ? I do have a scan master. Anything I could look for on it that would help ?
thanks

What chip is in the car?

What is the programmed idle rpm?

What cam is in the car? Does the chip match the cam and mods.?

Thanks for your reply. So are you thinking it may be the MAF ? I do have a scan master. Anything I could look for on it that would help ?
thanks