You can type here any text you want

Tranny thump...

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Jim

Any ideas what could cause a nasty thump when an 89 TTA shifts from 1-2 or when put into either forward or reverse gears from park or neutral? Mounts are all good, and so are the u-joints. The car shifts great 2-3, 3-od (firm, fast, not harsh). The car is all stock with no mods? less than 90k on the car. I'm not a mechanic, so I'd like ideas before I shell out huge bucks to get a tranny rebuilt, when it's just a little thing. Thanks!

They all clunk when you put them in gear, it's just the nature of
the F body. My car also clunks when I downshift into drive while
cruising. But as for the thump when it shifts into second, that
sounds like something that you should have a tranny shop check
out.

James

It's the mushy tranny mount that allows it to thump. For a VERY short period of time I used a polly tranny mount and the "thump" was gone. The only problem with that polly mount is the SEVERE vibration that vibrates the car to bits! Needless to say I yanked that thing out ASAP and the vibration was gone. The uni body cars disipate too much of the driveline vibration throughout the entire car to use a mount like that. Initially I thought my OE mount was torn but it wasn't....just very soft!

If the car when it hits 2nd under some throttle, hits hard/chirps the tires, the band is good. If the car when it goes into second rolls into the gear,slips, is very mushy..then the band is about to go.

Your thump could be normal.. the shifts are suppossed to be crisp, firm, fast. The more throttle the harder they hit. If the tranny performs as I describe..its ok.

The 2004r tranny clunks when put into gear.. sounds like bad universal joints. This is normal. Actually the TTA is less severe than the GN due to valve body changes in it. TTA valve body is TTA specific.