224 Cam?

vader87

Protected Freedom for 27 years! Thank a Veteran!
Anyone running a 224/224 roller cam in a street TB? Is this too much cam for a street/track strocker? A builder just told me it was too much cam and is not very fun to drive. Thanks!

i've always heard its better to "undercam" these 6's than it is to over cam them. probably loose horse power, need a huge stall, a huge turbo to breath that much, and some super heads! good luck with what ever cam you go with,:)

I was running a 224/224 in a 231 cu in motor. Even though it ran fine on the street and the track, I thought it was too much. Don't know why I did it but I did it. I would run max 218/218. I would flow your heads and see what the cfm's are at the lifts and pick your cam from there.

Billy T.
gnxtc2@aol.com

Cool and thanks for the info! I also have a 218/212 roller. Here are my plans:

250 stroker with girdle
Port GN1 Heads
Port intake
95 lbs injectors
Larger fuel lines and rails

Now I am new to this stuff so let me ask a few questions. With the 224 cam, what exactly will hurt the performance? I take it the power is way up in the rpm range, correct? On the street, will I have a hard time with vacume? I guess what I am asking is why go with a smaller cam? Not that I do not want to hear what you guys are saying but I would like to know more about the "mechanics" of cams and air flow. Thanks again!

Cool and thanks for the info! I also have a 218/212 roller. Here are my plans:

250 stroker with girdle
Port GN1 Heads
Port intake
95 lbs injectors
Larger fuel lines and rails

Now I am new to this stuff so let me ask a few questions. With the 224 cam, what exactly will hurt the performance? I take it the power is way up in the rpm range, correct? On the street, will I have a hard time with vacume? I guess what I am asking is why go with a smaller cam? Not that I do not want to hear what you guys are saying but I would like to know more about the "mechanics" of cams and air flow. Thanks again!