An opinion on in-tank double-pumper setups.....

Blazer406

Mechanical Engineer
Take it for what it is worth..... as it is only my opinion.

A in-tank double pumper setup is a bad idea.... and is a hurt motor looking for an opportunity.

I bet I have your attention now......

I have been helping with a friends car for several years. We have been running an intank double-pumper setup but have had several issues with the system over the past couple seasons. We sumped the stock tank at the 1st of last year and bought a large Weldon external pump and setup to put on when we got around to it. We were still running the double pumper setup when we went 9.4x's @ almost 147 mph with the car in Reynolds in the fall of 2010. I got to thinking about what would happen if the second pump failed.

Look at it ths way..... a single 340 is (by my definition) marginal if you are running bottom 10's w/o alky to assist in the fueling. If pump #1 s good for say 600 HP.... and you are making 900...... when will you know you have an issue with pump #2? If your luck is anything like ours, I can tell you it will be after 1/2 track when all the pistons are beginning to melt.

My point is this.... with a big single pump..... at least if it quits.... the car will not run. When you are running a DP setup..... it will run fine until it goes way lean but won't quit.... cause you got a good pump giving you 600 HP worth of fuel.

I would expect to get some flack from the die-hard DP fans.... but prove that what i say isn't the truth......

Just thought I would plant the seed for people considering a DP setup but have not thought about how it works....

IMHO, with the new bigger in-tank pumps out there...and a Razor's alky kit.....you should be able to safely get well into the 9's with one in-tank pump. If you need to go faster than that..... step up the entire fuel system with something like a 2015 Weldon and a sumped tank.

HTH Somebody.

No different than alky injection...