Bad supercharger, how much $$

b4black

I was looking at a 1998 Regal GS and noticed right away that the supercharger was rattling. How much $ and how much work is involved with changing it? Just looking for ballpark figures. The seller has lowered the price, but i don't want to get in over my head. The cart is otherwise nice and only 70k miles.

Also, the HVAC display isn't working. Is that a big deal?

Thanks!

Supercharger coupler is a $75 and 3hr job and the hardest part is just getting everything out of the way to get the snout off then getting the oil out with some sort of pump. I personally used a vacuum pump attached to an oil jug with another line used to suck the oil into the jug. A hand soap pump or turkey baster will work great too.
I've been driving for 3 years with the HVAC control out so I honestly don't even know what it looks like lit up, just hit the buttons till it does what you want. I'm a hack at souldering so I've not tried the fix listed but I hear it works for a few years atleast before having to be redone.

I had series 2 3800 SC, I believe it was a 92 or 93 park avenue. My SC went out at 112,000K miles. It cost 1G$ to replace! :mad:

More than likely it is the supercharger coupler. Like posted earlier they're available from zzperformance. Get the supercharger oil from the dealer or website, it's the same price. Fairly easy as well, I've done two in the past. Just remove the serp belt. Your going to have to remove the alternator to get acces to some of the bolts. Get some kind of suction device or let drain onto some rags below the nose cone. There is also a bolt just underneath the nose cone that is not visable to the eye! When installing make sure everything lines up, make sure that cone and s/c line up, there will be three pegs that align it. You will need some anerobic gasket maker when installing the nose cone back on as well. When the nose cone is installed, fill with the two 4 oz bottles of oil and check the level.