You can type here any text you want

brake failure

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

ghostrider455

i am new to the turbo buicks, just had the brakes fail on my '87 regal limited fail last night on the way home from a local show. the brake light came on, there was no pedal pressure and a noticed a burning electrical sort of smell, we managed to make it home without incident. i haven't seen this kind of brake setup before, but i'm guessing the electric motor portion off setup took a dump??? any ideas??? wondering if the components are available individually or if a complete rebuilt master assembly would need to be purchased?

thanks,
john
715-498-4900

You just experienced the Factory defect re-call on all GN's with the Brake Accumulator

I had it happen to me to back in the 80's,what you smelt was brake fluid on your exhaust

You'll have to replace it with the re-call part an maybe get a remanufactured brake unit, there pricey,most just op for the Vacuum Brake Conversion kit.

You just experienced the Factory defect re-call on all GN's with the Brake Accumulator

I had it happen to me to back in the 80's,what you smelt was brake fluid on your exhaust

You'll have to replace it with the re-call part an maybe get a remanufactured brake unit, there pricey,most just op for the Vacuum Brake Conversion kit.

there was a recall on these for the powermaster unit? do i have any way of knowing if this car was ever done in the recall??? as i didn't see any stickers on the radiator support to say its been done, as the car is super original except for a k&n filter.

That recall is long gone. Go vacuum or hydroboost. Mine failed on me when a guy through a u-turn in front of me:mad:

I had it happen to me to back in the 80's,what you smelt was brake fluid on your exhaust.