You can type here any text you want

different turbo setup..comments please

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

NCHATCH

hey all im new to this automobile, just bought a 78 turbo regal. i dont like how the turbo setup is and was wondering if anyone could add some info to a different one or comment on how they think mine will work.

-new turbo T3/T4 on passenger side
-run to a front mount intercooler
-up the drivers side, to the carb bonnett
-and of course going to use a edelbrock manifold of some sort
-and to top it of a greddy blow of valve.

this worked wonders on my 98 mustang, with a carbureted 5.0 i put in it. after a month of tuning, it ran beautifully and still does, just wanted to see if anyone has any feed back.

mike amerson

I think it's a great idea.
http://www.flash.net/~rjgeorge/blowthru.htm

But, personally, I don't think it's worthwhile if you already have a working draw-thru set up. The DT can take you pretty far. But on the other hand, you already have experience with the blow-thru.

9 of one, 3/4 dozen of the other. :)

This comes up once and a while and I keep following it to see when it happens. I am collecting the parts to do it myself.

The May issue of "Super Rod" magazine has a write up on a Carb/Turbo/Intercooled small block Ford. They stroked a 302 to 327 with 8.4/1 compression, an Edelbrock air gap Performer intake, 750 Demon carb, good heads and a stout cam was good for 392 HP@6000 and 385 lb-ft@4400 running N/A. With the turbo and intercooler it was good for 761 HP@6000 and 766 lb-ft@4000.

They used the same ignition and carb for both tests. The carb was not recalibrated to run with the turbo.

I believe this is going to be one of the fun future packages. The fuel pressure is boost regulated, just like the SFI cars and the carb can then run cleaner in all ranges. It would do away with the power valve issue.