You can type here any text you want

fuel pump hot wire kit problems.

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

torandiablo

Hey guys im quite new to the turbo Buick scene and my 86 t type has a fuel pump hot wire kit. Im not sure exactly which one but it is hooked up to the alternator. It kept blowing 30 amp fuses until today it finally just shorted out and I couldn't even replace the fuse without it sparking and blowing the fuse instantly.

My main question I have for diagnostic purposes is do any of these fuel pump hot wire kits bypass the fuel pump jumper?

Even with the fuel pump fuse blown the jumper should kick the pump on correct?

Is the fuel pump relay on the firewall still in use with a hotwire kit?

Lastly, will a shorted oil pressure sensor cause the short with the fuel pump system?

Thank you.

Sounds like your actual hotwire line is shorted to ground.

You'll most likely have to bypass the hotwire kit to make the fuel pump prime lead run the pump.

Hey guys im quite new to the turbo Buick scene and my 86 t type has a fuel pump hot wire kit. Im not sure exactly which one but it is hooked up to the alternator. It kept blowing 30 amp fuses until today it finally just shorted out and I couldn't even replace the fuse without it sparking and blowing the fuse instantly.

My main question I have for diagnostic purposes is do any of these fuel pump hot wire kits bypass the fuel pump jumper?

Even with the fuel pump fuse blown the jumper should kick the pump on correct?

Is the fuel pump relay on the firewall still in use with a hotwire kit?

Lastly, will a shorted oil pressure sensor cause the short with the fuel pump system?

Thank you.