How much power does Nitrous really add?

Sal Lubrano

OK. This is a beginner question for the Nitrous users. I have been using alcohol for many years and lately I have been watching too much of the Fast and Furious movies. I know Nitrous will cool the air charge, add oxygen and assist spooling. Alcohol cools the charge and adds octane. I am not asking about using Nitrous to spool the turbo then turning it off. I am curious how Nitrous stands up against alcohol at WOT. Why is it so big with the imports? Why purchase Nitrous when alcohol can be used? If, I had two stock 3.8 motors. One on Nitrous and the other on alky would one produce more power than the other turning the boost up as far as possible before detonation. I guess my big question is if both motors were pushed as far as they could go, which would come out the winner and by how much? Please explain why.

i got 4 tenths off a 35 shot,same day,same track.it's popular because it raises compression and enables small cubic inch motors with big turbos to get up on boost faster.there is no turbo lag with nitrous.

The nitrous/turbo combination would kill the other, if it didn't blow up first.
Turbocharging and nitrous oxide injection are both considered a power booster (supercharging). A way of craming more oxygen into the cylinder so that more fuel can be burned.
Alcohol is simply a fuel just like gasoline. Alcohol does have some attractive properties, though.
Turbocharging and nitrous would be combining two forms of supercharging. If the proper amount of fuel was added to support the massive amount of extra oxygen, that combination would be hard to beat.

worked fine on stock Buicks back in 86/87 .. Cars ran low 12s/high 11s. Ran it for years . Oh if ya get stupid an play with different things you might blow a head gasket ! Best bang for the $$$ back then.