You can type here any text you want

Initial tune - lots of timing?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

0-60n4

I have not confirmed what chip is in this car. The paperwork appeared to be TT 60lb. It came with a boost gauge, fuel pressure gauge and an old ATR L.E.D. a/f ratio display. The a/f ratio display goes full rich on WOT so I figured it was safe. 17 psi boost. FP rises 1:1 with 40 psi at idle with the hose connected. The car pulled OK at first but then leveled off pretty quickly (kinda flat really). I figured it might be running too rich.

I got a Scan Master this weekend and hooked it up. Wow, lot's of KR at WOT. Like 15 - 19 degrees. O2 volts was aronnd 830. Running 93 octane pump gas. So I wanted to confirm it was really knock and not false knock so today I removed the 93 octane and put in 8 gallons of 110 octane. BAM! pulls hard the whole way with 0.7 degrees of KR althoug I could see a momentary blip durning 1 - 2 WOT shifts. Feels much better. I have an Inovate Wide Band O2 sensor on order.

So I'm guess the chip must be a race chip with lots of timing advance. Make sense?

I don't drive the car much so I could live with a full-time race gas car.

Questions: It appears to have a manual boost controller under the dash. What would be a safe boost level on 110 race gas?

What O2 volts should I shoot for?

What's good but safe A/F ratio?

What is acceptible KR?

Next I plant to experiment with Octane to see wha the minimum is I can run with out getting knock. 110 may be more that required.

What are my best options if I want to run 93 pump gas?
1. turn boost down.
2. don't step on the gas pedal.
3. change chips
4. Alchy
5. other?

Thanks,

Jim

Jim,