More Powerlogger Windows 8 install issues.

tlturbo

Tag - WUTSA V8
Sorry to sound irritated over this BUT I am a retired computer professional and if I can't this damn thing installed, how are others doing it? I spent a lot of good money on Powerlogger and a Wide Band O2 and their installation, picked the car up and it doesn't work. They got it up and running on a Windows 7 machine but my new computer is Windows 8. I have spent all day reading and reading and I understand the Driver Signature issue and did the routine shown to disable that feature. Then I couldn't find the driver file on the CD sent me. After a few more hours research I found where I could download it. Did that, unzipped it and went back to the car. Plugged it in and tried to find the 2 devices to assign drivers to but they aren't even in the Device Manager. So now what do I do??

Computer pro here...I feel your pain. Windows 8 is a real step back when trying to get some usb drivers to work. I ended up buying a cheap netbook/laptop for less than $100 just for car/powerlogger use.

Some ideas:
Check the Bios to make sure USB/ USB 3.0 is enabled.
Check USB ports with another device to make sure they are active.
A link with a person who had possibly a similar issue: http://www.eightforums.com/drivers-...-not-functioning-working-properly-before.html

Good luck and keep plugging.

Same exact thing happened to me with 8.1, I almost put the new Toshiba under the rear tire and did a burnout I was so pissed, so I went to the local cpu store found a re-furbished 10year old windows xp laptop for $50.

all powerloggers (for almost a year now) are built with signed drivers. So these issues should be very infrequent now.

When was your PowerLogger purchased?

Bob

I have windows 8.1 on my surface Pro two with no issues at all with the power logger