You can type here any text you want

No Spark to the plugs.. "scratching head"

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

washingtonracer

Alright first with the specs
SBC 406 TT
FAST B2B WB
MSD Digital 6
MSD Pro Billet Dist
About a week ago I finally finished getting everything put together and attempted to turn it over. Not expecting it to start, but what do you know, it fired right up first try. Sounded beyond what I had ever hoped for. But.... the timing was off. So I went back over the basics. (This is my first time with this ecu). I re set up the timing. 50 deg on engine and 50 in ecu. then turn motor to 28degs. I realize (duh) I cannot phase my distributor. But it still ran. So anyways I installed a crank pickup and locked out the distributor. Now it won't start at all. I hooked a timing light to all spark plug wire, and I am getting no light. I am however getting spark from the coil wire to the dist. I have no clue what can cause this. the timing is setup still at the same specs as before and the dist is phased to 28 degs at num 1. regardless of that I would still expect the timing light to fire off even if the timing was not on. Could it possibly be my battery? I have worn it down, and have resorted to running a charger while doing this. The motor turns over just fine so I assume that there is enough charge to light the dist. My only other thought is perhaps when locking out the dist, removing the weights some how lowered the rotor height and now there is too large of a gap for the spark to jump to the spark plug. I know the ecu is receiving a good signal cause both the digial 6 is showing and the timing light when on the coil wire responds.

Any ideas, cause I am really scratching my head on this one.

Yes, it sounds like you just don't have the system phased right. You need a few things to be right here for it to work.