Painting Chrome Grille

WhiskeyGN

I've got this funny lookin' chrome grille on the front of my GN. Anyone got a good way to paint this thing?
419095_10150619172929001_521679000_9300911_1441791404_n.jpg

Paint doesn't stick to chrome the best but it does work decent enough as long as you prep it properly. Sand with 80-120 paper, spray with etch primer, prime, sand primer with 400 grit and paint. I've been painting for 15 years and have never had a piece of chrome come back peeling as long as you sand the living crap out of it and use etch primer and actual primer.

i just sanded, primed, painted, and put clear over my old one...came out decent...better than the rest of the car at least :mad:..itd probably be cheaper to get the 87 grill..they look way better imo

Just go find and buy the right grille.

All the work and money you will put into painting the one you have will peel off in 1 or 2 years at best.

Sorry The Government and highboostgn, it won't last.

I've been at this game for a while too.

If all the chrome plastic laminate isn't gone completely it's gonna peel, etch primer or not. If there is ANY laminate left, it will eventually peel because you have compromised the integrity of the laminate adhesion.

Whiskey, perhaps you should try washing it occasionally, that would be a vast improvement! ;)

Just find and buy the right grille.

All the work and money you will put into painting the one you have will peel off in 1 or 2 years.

Sorry highboostgn, it won't last.
oh doesnt bother me, I sold the car and have an 87 now lol

Here's a stupid question,.... Are you sure you actually have an 87, or could it be an 86?? What color are your door pull straps??

Judging by the pic...sand the grill lightly, rub with a tac cloth, wash the rest of the car, tape of lights and windows, and spray the ENTIRE thing...:p:p:p