You can type here any text you want

rebuilt pwrmaster

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

ITSAV6

It's my Granny's car!
I'm thinking of buying a rebuilt (Cardone) Powermaster from Autozone for $350 As mine has almost 140k and accum ball has gone. Do the reman ones have a new accum ball and pump and the sw too or do they replace just what is out of spec? I have a junk pwrmaster for a core.

Hey Doug,

You can do what you prefer, of course, but if you have a secondary core to trade (and keep you original) it can't hurt to try. What kind of warranty do they offer with it? $350 for a totally fresh rebuild ain't bad. But just like you said, how much is really rebuilt/replaced. AutoZoo parts aren't always the best quality.

If you still want, I can rebuild your original for you. All in total, may cost upwards of $500 in parts, but you know it will be done right. Give me a call if you want. Or we can discuss it Saturday at Reynolds!

See you there ;)

Just saw on Kirbans web site,

"We now offer rebuilt complete powermaster brake units.

Each unit is pre-tested and has a limited lifetime warranty for the original
buyer.

Because cores are limited, there is a core charge of $75, which is refunded
to you once an acceptable core has been received by us.

7021 - 1985-1987 Turbo Regal - Rebuilt Powermaster Brake Unit $399.95
PLUS $75 Core Charge*"

That sounds like a good deal. I would trust them on a rebuild.

pwr mster

I am going to check with Cardone and see what is replaced before I buy. :)

Don't let them tell you the drive motor has been rebuilt, because it can't.
It can only be replaced with a new one.
The cylinder can be rebuilt, if it isn't rusted or seized.

OK,I am gonna find out first,lifetime warranty. My acc ball has went bad I know but hate to spend $150 and all the rest is old!

Rebuild kits!?

Oh Crap!