You can type here any text you want

Turbo Buick Class 101 Complete. Help Needed with Class 102

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

SpeedRacerX

OK, now that I've learned and lived with my GN for the last year and completed all the upgrades you see in my signature, now it's time to get serious about me really understanding Boost, etc before I blow something up.

Here's what I'm most concerned about - everything in my control to hurt the car is mostly manual. Boost controller. Alky controller, my right foot, etc. The boost and resultant knock and blown head gaskets or worse is easily within my realm to screw up if I'm not careful about watching the gauges like I'm a fighter pilot, doing something stupid, the temperature outside drops, my dump is open, etc, etc.

Is there no automated or computer-controlled way to adjust boost, alky, etc to compensate for outside temp, exhaust flow, etc or am I stuck in "modern FI" car thinking??

I can't believe that all I can do is start conservative and gradually make slight adjustments to the boost under the hood and the alky in the car.

Please tell me that something exists to protect the car from myself. LOL.

Thanks in advance and I'm sorry if I'm asking dumb questions it's just that this car scares me and after putting a ton of money into it, I want to be as smart and safe as I can. I do like to press the right pedal once in awhile.

My issue with the Scanmaster is that it is mostly a reactive tool. I push the gas then after see what the O2s and Knock read BUT it could be too late by that point. I want something proactive with built-in protection. Perhaps something that can sense an over-boost situation and shut it down or cut it back.

I'll check all of this out. I heard the audible knock detector gives off a lot of false knock??

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk