You can type here any text you want

1984 Buick Regal..350 Swap

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Deykno

I just purchased a 84 buick regal limited, Im looking to swap a Chevy 350 engine into it that has around 275-300 hp. But im kind of new to the game so could someone school me on which year and make of cars to look in for the motor im looking for, also what will all be needed for swap thanks

Find a Buick 350 and its nearly plug-n-play. I did it in an 81 Regal. Piece O cake.

I just purchased a 84 buick regal limited, Im looking to swap a Chevy 350 engine into it that has around 275-300 hp. But im kind of new to the game so could someone school me on which year and make of cars to look in for the motor im looking for, also what will all be needed for swap thanks

Congrats on the PURCHASE.

We did same with my Son's 85 Monte. Took the 305 out & put in a 350.

We went with a 1982 Chevy 350 4 bolt main truck motor..
It slips my mind as to why we made sure it was an 80's block.. Maybe starter location or motor mounts? a monte forum might shed light on it.

We bought an aftermarket HEI distributor because the computer controlled unit won't work. Same for Carb buy a Aftermarket Electric choke carb. the factory Computer carb will not run proper.

It was overall pretty simple father/son project to do with a 15 year old kid.

If you are going to go with DUAL exhuast, buy the aftermarket trans crossmember with 2 notches for pipes on each side.. Or custom make one with a fab shop.

That 300 hp motor you will need to have a fresher trans that can handle it. although we ran my son's stock trans for about 3 years before it crapped out. My son's engine we pegged at 225/240HP it ran 14.8

What are your plans to get the 300HP? NOS? You are looking at a 13 or 14second ride depending on what you have for rear end.