Are orbital buffers too aggressive for original paint?

87GN&98VET

My car has original paint and overall it's in pretty good shape, however I am determined to finally do something to get rid of the spider webbing, scratches, etc. I've researched a lot of posts on this forum and it seems like a lot of people are using orbitals with various polishes (3M swirl remover, Griot's #3, etc.), however it appears that most of these people also have painted cars. Just wondering what some of you guys are doing out there that still have the original paint on your car. Are you using an orbital, and with what polish?

Thanks,
Sean

a good orbital, Porter cable,griots, etc.will not harm the paint...I use #3 Griots on almost every car i detail, new or old, then either the paint glaze,a wax or a sealant.....you are not going to use an old style rubbing compound with an orbital, nor would i recommend it.....i'm not a professional detailer by any means, but ive done hundreds of cars over the past couple years and never worry one bit about using an orbital with a mild polish to remove swirl marks or light scratches....