Colorado Emissions Help

Discussion in 'Smog tech and emissions tech' started by blackout007, Dec 27, 2017.

Tags:
  1. jiho2

    jiho2
    Expand Collapse
    Sporadic Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    13
    Offline
    I think Colorado cars need to have the throttle lever bent, such that the throttle plate is held open a certain amount instead of closing completely. This to compensate for the thinner air up there.

    If this has not been done on your car, that might explain why it seems to be running too rich.

    I have two Hot Air throttle bodies buried away here somewhere, one from Denver and one from the East Coast. The one from Denver has the throttle lever bent as described, the one from the East Coast does not.

    Hope this helps, as they say.
     
  2. thomas cory

    thomas cory
    Expand Collapse
    Toms GN

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Offline
    It’s a scam !!! Here in California they squeeze every dime from everyone. Get this , the smog diesel cars and trucks !!!! They take your VIN number and rev your motor to 2 grand and call it a day. Such bulls*#!
     
  3. blackout007

    blackout007
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Offline
    I've considered it. My dad lives in Grand Junction and thought about using his address but we'll see. Going to have to if it gets too expensive.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
     
  4. blackout007

    blackout007
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Offline
    I appreciate the info. I'll look into it. I've had the car in CO since about 1999. I believe it came from Michigan before.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
     
  5. blackout007

    blackout007
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Offline
    Will do. Should get the chip soon and will send updates.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
     
  6. jiho2

    jiho2
    Expand Collapse
    Sporadic Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    13
    Offline
    Seems I got confused about who's who in this thread. I responded to thomas cory, thinking he was the OP in Colorado. No wonder he ignored me. :confused::whistle:

    Oh well, all's well that ends well. Glad you got connected with my post. :D

    If I read you right, you got the Postons chip some years ago (while in Colorado), and only now this problem came up at the "first test." I'm unclear if you've ever had it smogchecked in Colorado before, or indeed if it's had issues like this before. In other words, I'm not sure if my suggestion is even a logical possibility. But I guess it's something you'd want to look at anyway, if you didn't know.
     
  7. thomas cory

    thomas cory
    Expand Collapse
    Toms GN

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Offline
    Ha! I’m new to the forum so I’m slightly confused. I’m the guy in California.
     
  8. jiho2

    jiho2
    Expand Collapse
    Sporadic Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    13
    Offline
    Well you're not the ONLY guy in California. Nor are you the only guy with the opinion that you have of smogcheck in California. On that, we are definitely in the same state and on the same page. (y)
     
  9. thomas cory

    thomas cory
    Expand Collapse
    Toms GN

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Offline
    Oh !! Got it !!! I got confused ! I found out there are counties in California the “ do not “ require smog !!!! Sonoma county, Mendocino county ........I wounded if securing a P.O. Box in one of those places would work ??
     
  10. jiho2

    jiho2
    Expand Collapse
    Sporadic Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    13
    Offline
    Check the change-of-address form on the DMV site. It requires a street address, will not take a P.O. Box.

    They're waaaay ahead of you. :D
     
  11. thomas cory

    thomas cory
    Expand Collapse
    Toms GN

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Offline
    Shoot !!! I will use the address of the P.O. Box building
     
  12. jiho2

    jiho2
    Expand Collapse
    Sporadic Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    13
    Offline
    I'd give you my number so you can call me from jail after making it so easy for them, but they might charge me with conspiracy.

    Anyway, I guess we've hijacked this guy's thread enough ....
     

Share This Page