hooker headers

cruzn57

Still plays with cars!
I'm seeking info on hooker headers, for the turbo V-6, after looking at them, they have long primaries, and a real long connector pipe, any benefits, any draw backs? any lag or what?
thanks,

I've installed a couple of sets of these. Unless they've made real advancements in the last 4 years [since I last installed a set for someone], STAY AWAY!!!

1. These things are a huge pain in the @$$ to install.
2. They're LOUD.
3. They leak.
4. They move around. Unlike the stock units, these units have no solid bracket to stabilize the pipe that the turbo bolts to. Instead, the intercooler acts as a major source of importance in how the turbo sits in place. Sucks.

There are scores of guys out there running low 10's on cleaned-up stock headers, and doing it quietly. Spend your hard-earned money on your girlfriend. You'll thank me. :)

...or maybe I'm just way off. Good luck.

thanks, I am new to the turbo arena, and have used hooker in the past on hot rods, but was unsure of their use for turbo cars, HEY! how'd you know my girl friend anyhow?? I knew I shouldn'ta work over time last week!! I wondered where she learned the new tricks, ha ha

Glad to have you onboard!

Hooker, in general, makes a very good product line. I swear by their '86 - '87 TR exhaust as the hands-down, no BS, best bank-for-the-buck exhaust on the market for these cars.

...but not their TR headers. :mad:

g'luck.

I have a friend that bought a set that I had and did his best time ever with the Hooker's.

Due to the large diameter tubes, they create a lot more lag and detract from the drivability of the car. I also cracked an oil return line every few months as long as I ran them due to the lack of bracing. I was not the only one to have this problem. The best day of ownership is the day you take them off in my opinion. :)