Hydraulic roller 218/218 Install and Spring pressure

Chris McDade

I'm new to hydraulic rollers. I've always run flat tappet cams. I just ordered a customer grind roller 218/218.
I want to make sure im using all the right components for this install.
Here is what I got with the kit.

Comp lifters 6853-12
Comp Timing Chain 3129
Comp Cam button 269
Springs 26918-12
Teflon Valve seals 503-12 - Im not using these.
Retainers 1787-12 locks 648-12

What should I look for on spring installed height? What should be seat PSI and open PSI?

Any feedback is appreciated.

I'm new to hydraulic rollers. I've always run flat tappet cams. I just ordered a customer grind roller 218/218.
I want to make sure im using all the right components for this install.
Here is what I got with the kit.

Comp lifters 6853-12
Comp Timing Chain 3129
Comp Cam button 269
Springs 26918-12
Teflon Valve seals 503-12 - Im not using these.
Retainers 1787-12 locks 648-12

What should I look for on spring installed height? What should be seat PSI and open PSI?

Any feedback is appreciated.
In short, change the timing set as the comp set has a Cast iron camshaft gear. Acquire a pro gear with a IWIS chain upgrade or a Rollmaster chain set. The springs could be marginal depending on the lobe. I am assuming a 3313 or 3611 lobe number.

As info, 26918-12 springs have a seat load of 125@1.800" and an open load of 367@1.150" according to Comp.

I will post the picture of the cam card tomorrow. I've been busy all weekend. 26918-12 spring doesn't seem like it has enough open and closed lbs.

I will probably jump over to the PAC1201

I will post the picture of the cam card tomorrow. I've been busy all weekend. 26918-12 spring doesn't seem like it has enough open and closed lbs.

I will probably jump over to the PAC1201

Here is the cam card.