You can type here any text you want

May be pulling the oil pan

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

BARRACUDA1968

Been fighting an oil leak and I suspect oil pan gasket.

My question where is the best position to have the motor in to drop the pan? Can you give me a degree on the balancer? I have a T/A balancer so I have a mark for 25 degrees ATDC so I can use that for a reference if someone knows where I need to be to get the most clearance.

Just try and drop it and if you need more clearance you can turn the enging by hand.

Clean the block real good and put some oil dye in. You'll find exactly where it's leaking b/f you pull the pan.

Clean the block real good and put some oil dye in. You'll find exactly where it's leaking b/f you pull the pan.

Already did that and had a leak at the fuel block off plate. Fixed that and cleaned everything and after putting some miles on I'm still wet at the back of the pan. It runs down the back of the block over to the starter and then runs out the starter weep hole on to the crossover pipe. Front of the motor is dry and the pan gasket is too almost all the way back then I get oil. Could be rear main but until I do the pan gasket I won't know for sure.

Already did that and had a leak at the fuel block off plate. Fixed that and cleaned everything and after putting some miles on I'm still wet at the back of the pan. It runs down the back of the block over to the starter and then runs out the starter weep hole on to the crossover pipe. Front of the motor is dry and the pan gasket is too almost all the way back then I get oil. Could be rear main but until I do the pan gasket I won't know for sure.
my valve cover leaks back their also,where the oil puddles at the back of the head.runs down the same way you describe.real hard to find being in that tight space back their.