You can type here any text you want

Oil Pickup

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Jeff Rand

On a stage 2 using the Duttweiler oil system, what oil pickup is being used and where can it be purchased. I would perfer not to buy the whole pan because mine has been modified for the turbo oil return.
Thanks,
Jeff

Jeff, I'm no expert, but as I understand it. I think you would have to run a line from the Dutt. system (suction fitting) down to a fitting on or near the bottom of the oil pan.

Same thing I'll have to do. Line from bottom of pan, up to suction fitting. Output line from Dutt. system up to top/front of block to feed the oil gallery fitting.

There's a third fitting on the Dutt. system that I "think" is some kind of return, and I haven't figured out where to plumb that yet. Maybe a fitting on the fuel pump cover (same place I'll probably run the turbo return). Or a fitting on the pan.

pickup

You will have to make a sheet metal box with a screen on the bottom. Weld a .750 pipe coupling to the side of the box and run the coupling through the side of the pan leaving the screen .500 in. off the bottom of pan. You can put a full baffle in the pan, but it needs to be .500 lower than stock location.
Big Chinooks had one like this for sale recently.

Originally posted by TurboDave
Jeff, I'm no expert, but as I understand it. I think you would have to run a line from the Dutt. system (suction fitting) down to a fitting on or near the bottom of the oil pan.

Same thing I'll have to do. Line from bottom of pan, up to suction fitting. Output line from Dutt. system up to top/front of block to feed the oil gallery fitting.

There's a third fitting on the Dutt. system that I "think" is some kind of return, and I haven't figured out where to plumb that yet. Maybe a fitting on the fuel pump cover (same place I'll probably run the turbo return). Or a fitting on the pan.