Razor's Alky install Pics/suggestions

03FatBoy

I am looking for some pictures and suggestions of where to mount the controller in the car. I prefer a fairly stock looking interior, and intend on keeping it that way. I have an Autometer boost gauge on the pillar, and a Scanmaster on top of the radio/HVAC control "console". Has anyone ever disassembled this boost/Vacuum gauge? I thought about mounting the turn-on LED inside the gauge if there is room. I thought that would really make a nice clean installation if it would work!
I have seen many controllers wedged between the instrument panel and the heater/radio panels, but I do not want to distort the plastic or foam. I thought about inside the ashtray area, in the console, or building a bracket to mount it on the side of the console itself. I do not want to permanently damage anything.
I am still new to the TR's, so don't know the advantages/disadvantages to mounting locations.

mount the controller to left inside of glove box, once you get it set you never have to mess with it. I set mine between pos 6-7 and haven't touched it since.

Mounting the controller in the ashtray would be a good idea. Only thing is the cord isn't real long so you might have to mount the PAC inside the console somewhere.

Maybe we could get Mark at TR custom parts to make an ashtray mounting plate like the one for the rocker switches, but instead for the controller.

As for the turn on LED, I drilled a hole in my gauge pod and mounted it in there, next to the boost gauge. Although another cool spot I think would be next to the factory boost gauge on the dash.

Controllers have a Cat5 cable so extending is not an issue with current versions.

Glove box is a simple deal. I just put them on the dash between the radio and instrument cluster as it doesnt require any holes to be drilled and is easy to use the test button.