You can type here any text you want

Ross piston clearance

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

turbodave231

I'm honing a stage block to accept a set of custom Ross pistons and I have a question for anyone who has used Ross in the past.

The Instruction sheet calls for .007 wall clearance as a minimum for normally aspirated applications. It calls for .010 for blown gas or turbo applications. These pistons have a barrel design and don't have long skirts.

I've never used Ross before and a wall clearance of .010 sounds huge to me. I'm concerned about ring seal and cylinder wall loading at the bigger clearance. All the Ross guys are at PRI and I can't talk to them until Monday.

Anybody have experience with Ross pistons? Please share!!

I bought my ross pistons from-Andersen Performance also who i would ask about Ross pistons.

My machinist told me back when, that Ross's reeeelllly expand and need a lot of clearance. In other words, noisy.

Thanks for the replies. I'm going to call the Tech guys at ROSS on Monday. They expand that much? Must really sound horrible at cold start-up. But my customer can live with that.

Dave

Dave, my Ross slugs aren't that noisy on cold startup..Solid roller makes more noise..Me and one of my bestest buddies (Leo) decided to tighten them up to .008...About 15 1/4mile passes and a half dozen 1/8 only passes in the mid to low 6's on the engine with no issues.

Just to finish this thread. We got with Ross and landed on .007 piston to wall clearance. The pistons have a thermal barrier coating on the tops and the anti-friction coating on the skirts. Less heat in the pistons and less friction means we can run them a little tighter.

Good deal Dave...I forgot to add that Calico coated the tops and skirts of my slugs. Did you get a couple extra when you ordered from Ross? I went ahead and purchased a set of 8 just in case I hurt one...